Skip To The Main Content
flag undefined calendar replay board stopwatch ribbon trophy list-unordered x track dollar
mail spoon-knife search phone location play replay menu tv plus arrow-up arrow-right arrow-left arrow-down flag ticket info search dollar star-half star instagram twitter facebook bus

First Horses Arrive for Clasico Internacional del Caribe

Oct 12, 2017
HALLANDALE BEACH, FL – Three horses from Puerto Rico arrived in South Florida to prepare for the Clasico  Internacional del Caribe, which will be contested for the first time in North America Saturday, Dec. 9 at Gulfstream Park.

The three horses shipped to trainer Alexis Cordero-Lopez are Arquitecto, Jade Master and Deland. Arquitecto and Jade Master are stabled at Palm Meadows while Deland is currently in Ocala.

“As we stated last month, Gulfstream has made Palm Meadows available to horses who will compete on the Clasico program as well as the Championship Meet,” said General Manager Bill Badgett. “We made sure these horses cleared quarantine in Puerto Rico and with the USDA. As an extra precaution, they are in a separate barn at Palm Meadows than the rest of the horse population and are only allowed to go on the track after general training hours, which is approximately 9:30 a.m.”

Arquitecto, the 2012 Puerto Rico Triple Crown winner, won the Copa Confraternidad del Caribe last year and will attempt to defend his title at Gulfstream. Bred in Puerto Rico, Arquitecto has won 27 off 44 starts.

Jade Master won the Group 2 Clasico de los Padres in June and will be pointed toward the Copa Importados. Jade Master is a Kentucky-bred son of Master Command who early in his command raced at Saratoga, Belmont and Finger Lakes.

Deland, a Florida-bred son of multiple graded-stakes winner Gottcha Gold, has won 10 of 16 starts. A stakes winner in Puerto Rico, Deland is a contender for the Copa Importados as well. 

The Clasico Internacional del Caribe comprises five races with total purses of $600,000. This will be the first time the Clasico is held in North America since its inception in 1966. 

Track Sponsors